Druid Treelore

Druid Treelore
The word Druid means ‘forest sage’ or ‘magician,’ or ‘wise person of the oak.’

Druids worshiped in their groves.

The druids of today, protect trees and the environment.

The major sacred trees are Oak, Ash, Apple, Birch, Beech, Elder, Hawthorn, Hazel, Rowan, Sycamore, Yew and Willow.

There are three groups, Ovates, Bards and Druids.

Ovates, were considered the shamans of the tribe. They specialized in herb, animal and tree lore. Applying a skill called ‘neldoracht’ by reading cloud shapes and sighting bird flight patterns, Ovates could see into the future. The advisors to royalty were the Druids. They were ritualists and specialized in performing ceremonial rituals at specific moments on the solstices and other key events. Bards applied magic telling or singing oral folk tale. They were trained in four arts of poetry, reciting 350 folktales and exhortations.

‘Ogham,’ is the Druids’ tree language. It originated in the fourth century C.E.

It was based on twenty five trees and plants.

flat,1000x1000,075,f.u1Illustration of ‘Ogham Tree Grove’ by Yuri Leitch

They would carve these symbols into wood, stone or metal. There were encoded messages used in foresight.

In the Ogham language, the Yew tree was named, ‘Ioho’ it is considered the tree of reincarnation and infinitude. Yews can renew themselves and some in the UK are known to live up to four thousand years!

In Norse folklore, Yggdrasil is the sacred Ash Tree which encompasses the nine worlds Odin the Æsir god hung on the tree for nine days there he discovered the runes.

Source & References:


%d bloggers like this: